Monday Mix and Match

Hello and welcome to this week’s Mix and Match favourites post! Apologies for my tardiness on this one – as I said on mentioned on my Twitter, I am not good at life! A busy week majorly kicked my butt and I’m actually embarrassed at how many couch naps I took this past weekend! I hope you are all well rested and enjoying the week so far anyway – nearly the weekend, you can do it!! Here’s this week’s top picks in beauty, fashion and homewares… Enjoy!

Beauty

Maybelline Color Drama Lipstick in In With Coral Review

Another day, another lipstick! Up this week: Maybelline Color Drama Lipstick in “In With Coral”. I’m a little late to the party with this one, with the the release of this would be Nars dupe causing pandemonium in the blogosphere a few months back. At the time, buying another lipstick was last thing on the agenda but I finally succumbed the other day and purchased this summery shade of coral. A more unusual choice amongst my many reds and nudes (seriously, how many does one gal need?), I have fallen in love with this product for it’s colour, matte texture and staying power!

At €6.49, it was never gonna be as luxurious or as creamy as it’s more expensive counterparts (namely the famous Nars Velvet Matte pencils that I alluded to above), but this color Drama pencil style of lipstick gives it a darn good try! The colour payoff is excellent. with this particular shade sitting nicely in the middle of the spectrum from pink and coral. The texture is very matte, and I find it needs to be blended in with a finger to give a more natural, less thick, crayon like finish. With that said, it’s beautiful option for a daytime look when you want a bold lip without looking too “made up”, and the lasting power that comes with a matte formula is a major selling point too. It definitely comes close to my other matte lip pick of the moment, Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet. Have you tried any of the Maybelline Color Drama pencils? I’m dying to get my hands on some of the other shades so let me know what you would recommend!

Fashion

Tan Suede Button Up Skirt, H&M Spring Summer 2015Seventies Style, Tan Suede Button Up Skirt, H&M Spring Summer 2015

Show me a fashion lover who won’t own at least one suede button through skirt by the end of the summer, and I’ll eat my matching seventies style fedora! Call it the Alexa Chung effect (with that skirt in that collection for AG Jeans), but this is shaping up to be the style of the season for your bottom half.  If you want to be ahead of the pack , get yourself to H&M, pronto! This tan suede beauty is only €30! It’s faux suede, natch, but still…run! It has thee most flattering shape on – and this is coming from someone with a very awkward shape to flatter (short with,*ahem*, a sizeable posterior – think literally the exact opposite of Ms Chung). This skirt is an all round waist defining, leg lengthening, trend ticking winner. I can’t wait to wear it with thick tights and polo neck until Spring finally hits (seriously Ireland, it’s March – snow.. really??). At the first hint of warmth, I will rooting out my new Chloe-esque sandals and hunting for an off the shoulder blouse as the cherry atop my suede skirt sundae. And if anyone out there has spotted this skirt’s blue denim counterpart, for a realistic price point, do share the love – tellingly, every option I’ve found so far has been sold out!

Interiors

Tk Maxx Printed Cushion with Pom Pom Trim

This week’s interior update is this printed grey and cream cushion with pom pom trim from everyone’s favourite cut price treasure trove, TK Maxx. I know right – you had me at pom-pom trim! I definitely couldn’t resist this, despite the fact I knew I would have to sneak it past my boyfriend and onto my already packed couch – multitudes of cushions being among culottes and midi-rings in the category of “things boyfriends don’t get“. Me personally, I like to make a proverbial nest amongst my cushions of a Saturday nigh. (#partyanimal). Easily done when the number of cushions on the couch outnumber the amount of people who can fit on the couch by at least 3:1. Plus, well, they look so puuuurty!!!

Granted it’s not the more serious of decisons in life, but it takes a lot for a cushion to catch my eye (although himself would disagree, clearly). I’m very picky when it comes to pattern, texture, comfort and value for money and this one passed in all categories – only twenty euro with excellent couch nap potential (tried and tested – only the best reviews for you dear readers!). TK Maxx have this cushion  in a beautiful burnt orange also, as well as a whole lotta covetable homewares and knick knacks as per usual (seriously, I had to run outta there to stop myself blowing the food budget for the month!)

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

6 thoughts on “Monday Mix and Match

  1. Pingback: Outfit Post: Denim Button Up Skirt, Khaki Parka and Black Polo Neck | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

