Outfit of the Day: Breton Stripe and Double Denim

River Island Striped Paris Tee, Black Boots, Double Denim

Denim JAcket (Old), Paris Breton Tee and Black Boots – River ISLAND

Black Skinny Jeans and black Bag – Penneys

 

What kind of eejit wears a denim jacket and takes photos on the coldest, foggiest day of the year so far? Not pointing any fingers, but can you tell how frozen I am? My photographer was unimpressed at having to take his hands out of his pockets, to say the least! But it’s been ages since I popped an outfit of the day post up on this blog and I really wanted to show off my two latest and favourite purchases  – these block heeled boots and this striped tee with bold red “Paris” slogan, both from River Island. I say show off, but there was NO way that I was taking my jacket off – but trust me, it’s a nice t-shirt! Breton tees are my fashion weakness and although I already own decidedly more than a few versions, this tee was a no-brainer for me – black and white stripes, boxy shape and a nod to style mecca, gay Paree… River Island, you know how to play your cards right. I  think this look completely sums up my style – comfortable, graphic and simple. I’m a sucker for both denim and stripes and although an outfit like this isn’t the most exciting, it feels classically stylish, laid-back and cool.

Double denim and Breton Stripe Tee Outfit - The Mix and MatchRiver Island Paris Breton T-ShirtRiver Island Block Heeled Matte Leather Chelsea Boots

Then there’s the boots…I don’t think I’ll ever have enough black footwear at my disposal, and these block heeled beauties were a veeery clever purchase, even if I do say do myself. The streamlined shape, high heel and matte leather finish makes for thee most versatile shoe you could have in your wardrobe, Nothing can ruin a good outfit like bad footwear and having a boot that I can wear with everything means a lot less wardrobe hissy fits dilemmas when getting dressed each day. Eliminating any footwear quandaries in one fell swoop makes me very happy, indeed and at only €45, I can think I could be so bold as to use that old cliched adage – these boots give you bang for your buck. And if you were in any doubt as to how much I’ve been wearing these, please reference the multitude of scuffs that I’ve acquired in just three weeks!

And what better way to style it up than a cheeky bit of double denim. Mixing blue and black definitely makes it easier to dip your toe into the trend – I don’t reckon I could pull off B*Witched chic! I am very looking forward to warmer climes, when I can pop this tee on with a midi skirt and heels, or denim cut-offs and rock the boots with a floaty dress and tanned bare legs… I’ll be stocking up on the Sally Hansen anyway!

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

One thought on “Outfit of the Day: Breton Stripe and Double Denim

  1. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

