Monday Mix and Match

Monday again, can you believe it? Time to share some of my favourites in fashion, beauty and food for the week…

Fashion

Primark Gold and Turquoise Choker and Cuff - Festival Fashion

Is there anything that evokes the feeling of summer more than turquoise jewellery and white cheesecloth? Not in my book anyway! I’ve always had a soft spot for the rustic, vintage charm and vibrant colour of turquoise and this choker and cuff from Penneys have retro style, not to mention festival season fashion, written all over them! For now, I’ll be styling them to suit the decidedly more grey weather we are having by throwing ’em on with all black and maybe even a bit o’ fringing for a nod to the seventies trends that is currently dropping onto our fashion radars in a big way. Trust me, turquoise, fringing, cheesecloth, suede, flares – we will all be wearing some form or another by July… And I ain’t complaining! If I can nonchalantly channel my gal Stevie Nicks in any way, then it’s all good – wish me luck with that one, yeah?

Beauty

Olay Total Effects 7-in-1 Anti-Ageing Moisturiser and Serum Duo - Review

I’m suffering from majorly sensitive skin and breakouts at the moment and have been on the hunt for moisturiser or serum that won’t clog my pores, yet one that will soothe my moody complexion. Well, I love a multitasking product and let me tell you Olay Total Effects 7-in-1 Anti-Ageing Moisturiser and Serum Duo definitely fulfills that requirement – if you couldn’t tell from the “everything but the kitchen sink” name. Despite, the tongue twister title however, this is a simple product that actually does what is says on the tin, so to speak. It’s the perfect everyday moisturiser, especially when compared to my usual oil based serum which has started to become a tad too heavy for my oily skin. It works really well under make-up as it’s light, absorbs quickly and gives a youthful glow to the face. I’m definitely of the opinion that it’s never too early to start using anti-ageing products either – at the ripe old age of 23 I’ve noticed a few laughter lines around my eyes and on my forehead and since I don’t plan on giving up having a giggle with my girlfriends any time soon, anything that claims to plump and the skin is going in my basket! Claims of 7 huge benefits in one product is bold, and I’m not naive enough to think this €12 moisturiser/serum hybrid will solve all of my skin woes. But still, it’s an affordable product that feels lovely on the skin, gives a bit of a glow and has the added bonus of an SPF of 20, which as we all know is probably thee most important and effective way of preventing signs of ageing. And I will most certainly let you all know if I look like a teenager again in months time 😉

Food

Blueberry and Macadamia Nut Pancakes - Avoca Malahide

My favourite indulgence (if you don’t count lipstick, home trinkets or clothes of any kind…which you shouldn’t cos they’re completely and utterly necessary), is eating out and brunch is most certainly as my favourite way to splash out! I’m all about the late brunch (3.30pm reservation, puh-lease), but this past Saturday the unthinkable happened: myself and himself were up outta bed, washed and dressed by 10.30am – hallelujah, this calls for BRUNCH I cried! And off we toddled, as smug as can be, to Avoca in Malahide Castle. Led by my ever present sweet tooth, I ordered blueberry and macadamia nut pancakes with the obligatory maple syrup – they did not disappoint said sweet tooth, nor any other of my gnashers! Absolutely delicious, and after snaffling half of my man friend’s gourmet fry up (strictly for blog review purpose of course…), I can confirm – Avoca do brunch right! And when you count the added bonus of whiling away a good hour browsing the dreamy ranges of books, cookware, cosmetics, jewellery, clothes and homewares afterwards (I challenge you you not to come away without three scented candles and book on gardening), you’re onto a winner. Or if you can manage to put the blinkers on when leaving, at least go for a stroll around the castle grounds and park – you be pushed to find a nicer spot in North County Dublin in my opinion. Defintely worth a trip, even if you are South of the Liffey!

Malahide Castle and Gardens

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

