Monday Mix and Match

Hello and a very happy Monday to you all! This week I’ve realised that it really is the little things that can make your day – a fresh coat of nail polish, a beautifully scented room to cosy up in, and not forgetting a good book to accompany you! Here’s the details and do share what little things are keeping you cheery today!

Beauty

Best Dark Red Nail Polish: Rimmel Salon Pro in Venus

What gal cannot attest to the happiness a freshly painted set of red nails can bring? Although difficult to get right without the help of professional, it’s worth taking a little time out of your evening to add a little old school glamour to your talons. Finding a red polish that is easy to apply, not to mention easy to remove, is more than half the battle, and I think I’ve found one that fits the bill: Rimmel Salon Pro by Kate  Nail Polish in “Venus” . This is a beautifully dark and sultry shade of red, almost burgundy, that can make been the stubbiest of nails (i.e. mine) look chic. Red is definitely a shade that you always need to take your time when applying – that two minute job with your favourite nude shade just won’t cut it when it comes to red. One wrong stroke of crimson and there aren’t no amount of cotton buds that can save you…and forget about doing your hair or going to the bathroom for the next hour, amirite? But trust me, this shade is worth it – the formulation is just the right consistency for easy application – two light coats, plus a top coat and you’re good to go! And  for just under a fiver, this is a beautiful bargain!

Interiors

Freshen and Decorate yiur home: Neroli and Orange Scented Room Spray

I am more than familiar with scented candles and diffusers (read: obsessed), but mention “room spray” and I shiver, picturing plastic pods that launch sickly sweet scent in your direction when you enter a room (well, according to those ads anyway…). Well, my perception has officially been changed about the options out there, and I reckon yours should be too! I received this vintage style beauty for Christmas, and couldn’t believe it when I found out it was from TK Maxx! TK, as it is affectionately known in my house, has long been a haven of all things wonderfully bargainous and wonderfully random, but my searches have always been centred on cut price books, pots and sports bras (see what I mean? Random at it’s best!). Who knew they sold such an array of accoutrements to keep your home smelling fresh and fabulous too? Well they do, and this is as beautiful and chic in scent as it is in the looks department! To be honest, that old fashioned atomiser was love at first sight – the scent could have been akin to bin water and I wouldn’t have cared! But thankfully, perennial favourites neroli and orange have upped the stakes and now I don’t know how I survived without spritzing this around the place every so often (a tad dramatic, I realise). Is there anything more uplifting or refreshing than the scent of citrus? Peeling a mandarin for lunch is enough to send my serotonin sky rocketing, and when combined, the relaxing and mood enhancing properties of neroli and orange are a lovely addition to an evening at home – like sunshine in a bottle!

Books

Book Club Recommendation: Veronika Decides to Die, Paulo Coelho

I love reading but I am not good at reading – mainly due to the fact that I’m unable to sit still for very long (seriously, this blog posted has taken two cups of tea being made, re-doing my hair and a sneaky hoover to get done!). What I’m trying to say is, I was hoping to have my latest read “Veronika Decides to Die” by Paulo Coelho (he of “The Alchemist” fame!), finished by the time of writing this Mix and Match… but unfortunately, a busy weekend and ants in my pants have scuppered that! However, that is not to say that this is not an engrossing and enjoyable read – it very much is, I’m half way through and can’t wait to start each new chapter. “Veronica Decides to Die” could seem like one to steer clear of, not only in title but also in initial premise: Veronika devices to end her life but instead wakes up, very much alive, in Slovenia’s most infamous mental asylum…with only a few days to live due to irreparable heart damage. I myself was wary of starting into something dark and upsetting right now, but I was assured this book was quite the opposite. From what I have read so far, it is in fact, well… uplifting! It’s thought-provoking as well as a little quirky and off-beat and thankfully, it’s not too heavy going for your morning commute or your lunch break! If you aren’t as useless as me this would be a short read, but I’m relishing having this book to look forward to in precious spare moments. “Veronika Decides to Die” is an intriguing insight into the thoughts around, and definitions of, madness, as well as lesson in understanding that live is for living – something we all could do with reminding of, I reckon. I guarantee, this one will keep you thinking even when the pages are closed.

Has anyone read this book and liked/disliked it? I would love to hear your thoughts, as well as suggestions for my next read (if I ever manage to get there!)

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

5 thoughts on “Monday Mix and Match

  1. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

