Monday Mix and Match

If you own any kind of social media account or have access in any way to the internet (which I can safely assume you do by the fact you are currently reading this), you’ll have been bombarded all day with articles on how this particular Monday is supposedly “the most depressing day of the year”. Well, hopefully you are all at home, doing something that makes you happy this Monday evening, and that this post might help to add a little fun to your evening too! Me, I’m heading out to see The Theory of Everything – which by all accounts may not be the best choice for a Monday evening cheer up, but I am excited all the same (popcorn!). Whatever you’re up to tonight, be happy and enjoy!

Beauty

Kylie Jenner Inspired Lips - Mac Kinda Sexy and Nude LipinerNude Lips - MAC Lipstick in Kinda Sexy, &  Other Stories Tiretaine Blush Lipliner

Not another post on how to achieve Kylie Jenner’s pout, I hear you cry! I think every make-up enthusiastic has their favourite nude lip sorted but I thought I’d weigh in with mine, having received the most gorgeous neutral shade Christmas (Santa knows his beauty trends, eh?). “Kind Sexy” by MAC is a pinky rose shade, perfect for achieving a full, natural looking lip, particularly when you have paler skin such as myself. I know thee Kylie shade is the perennially sold out “Velvet Teddy” but looking at it, I think its cooler, and very deep, beige tone is suited to those who are more sallow of skin, and I’ve found “Kinda Sexy” to be a much more flattering alternative. I’ve been wearing this shade at every available opportunity, along with my trusty nude lip liner, “Tiretaine Blush” from & Other Stories – this makes the look defined and more intense. That and a subtle bronze smokey eye and you are ready for a night on the tiles!

Home

Collection of Glass Bottles - The Mix and MatchCollection of Glass Bottles

Some might call me a hoarder, but I prefer the phrase “connoisseur of quite lovely, yet perhaps unnecessary things”… and since moving into my own pad, my magpie tendencies have gotten worse! The saying one man’s trash comes to mind – don’t throw anything out friends, because I will definitely make your trash my treasure! I love up-cycling, re-purposing and generally making something out of nothing. This, coupled with my intense love of fresh flowers, has led to an ever increasing collection of unusual bottles and bud vases – these range from store bought from the likes of Avoca and Tiger, to Club Soda bottles and even Nando’s sauce bottles! Grouping similar items of different heights, widths, texture and colour is one of my favorite ways to add character and interest to my home decor. This particular collection kind of happened by accident but now I’m definitely on the lookout for any unusual glass bottles next time I head to a flea market (or supermarket for that matter!).

Fashion

Safari Trend - Khaki Jumper with Lace back, Primark

There are certain fashion trends we see again and again each Spring/Summer season: florals, nautical and safari being the biggest repeat offenders each year, and once again they’re starting to arrive in various forms into the shops. The safari trend brings a colour palette to which I’m drawn more and more, and all of sudden, khaki is catching my sartorial eye. On top of recent sale disappointment in Topshop – the khaki shirt of my dreams was reduced, only to be sold out in my size. I spotted this jumper in Penneys which has filled the void (for now – I will find the perfect utilitarian shirt this year!). I may still be enduring the longest wait for payday ever, but hey it was only a tenner and it’s cold, ok? A gal needs knitwear right now!

delicate-gold-necklaces-river-island-h-and-m1

Another small pre-payday pick me up were these delicate gold chains from River Island (top) and H&M (bottom).  These look perfect layered together, for a statement but subtle look (I feel another collection starting!).

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

2 thoughts on “Monday Mix and Match

  1. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

