2014 Review

Happy New Year!! I decided to take a little blogging break over Christmas to recharge my batteries completely and hopefully set myself up for some inspirational and fulfilling blogging in 2015. I hope to be back in the swing of things in the New Year, especially since I was very lucky to receive and brand new, and oh so fancy, camera for Christmas (New Year’s Resolution no. 1 – learn to use this!). For now, I thought it fitting to reflect on the amazing year that 2014 has been…

Life changed immensely in the earlier part of the year, and all for the better. First was making the move from a full time retail position to a “grown-up” 9-5 – nothing shakes up your perspective and makes you appreciate your weekends and evenings like having them both free once again! It was this leap that set in motion my absolute highlight of the year – moving out of my parents house and into a new home with my boyfriend. I’m a very independent gal and a home of my own was something I had worked and yearned for for so long.

Moving house

Let me say, this is the happiest I’ve ever looked when surrounded by mess! People are not wrong when they say moving house is one of the most stressful parts of adult life, and certainly makes you realise the amount of unnecessary “stuff” you accumulate over the years! But after three solid weeks of hard work, painting and spending all our money on pots and cutlery, we created a place that I am very very proud to call home.

Champagne celebrating our new home

This was well deserved as we sat in our freshly decorated sitting room!

This past year has afforded me some wonderful opportunities to travel too, with holidays both at home and abroad.

MGM Lion, Las Vegas

Rick's Pawn Shop. Las Vegas

Bellagio Fountains, Las Vegas

The first port of call this year was Las Vegas, a surprise trip for my boyfriend’s Dad’s 60th birthday (with all nine of us showing up to surprise him in the airport – easily the most covert operation I’ve been involved with!). It was a seriously fun and surreal place to visit, we had an absolute ball!

The Grand CanyonKaren and Ger in the Grand Canyon

We were also very very fortunate to to fly in a helicopter to visit the Grand Canyon – easily the best part of the entire trip (apart from the pancakes the size of my head every morning – God Bless America!). It was a once in a lifetime experience and unforgettable in every way. It also made me realise that I’m not so much scared of flying in a helicopter, more that it makes me violently ill with motion sickness #neveragain. Worth it nonetheless to see the sun rise over the canyon whilst sipping champagne.

Glendalough Upper Lake - Travel PhotoOutfit - Jeans, Parka, Fedora, Check Shirt

One of my earliest blog posts was about a mini trip to somewhere closer to home, one hour down the road from me to be precise, to County Wicklow (you can read all about my short trip here) Mainly,I realised just how much beauty there is on our little island and I am determined to take another holiday to Ireland in 2015.

Canal Bridge in Amsterdam

Beautiful view from the Hilton Double Tree, AmsterdamVintage Car in Amsterdam

And then of course. there was more recent trip to the beautiful Amsterdam (posts here and here). this was a holiday that really whet my appetite for city breaks and realised there is just as much enjoyment and relaxation to be gained from wandering around quirky shops and cafes and seeing the sights as there is in lying by the pool.

Zara Dress, Penneys Fedora, boots and handbag Karen McCourt - The Mix and Match Glow Highlighter in Polish, Topshop Makeup Forever 21 Bomber Jacket, Missguided Fedora, H&M Necklace Sleek Contour Palette, Topshop Glow, Catrice Concealer, Seventeen Eyebrow Pencil, Rimmel Eyeliner Necklace, Earrings, Rings Rimmel Listing Finish 25hr Foundation in Light Porcelain H and M T-Shirt, Denim Shorts, Simple Jewellery Hummingbird Bakery Red Velvet Black Outfit, Berry Lips and Bag

And of course, a major highlight was taking the plunge and setting up this here blog! I could never have imagined how much happiness and energy it would give me to channel creativity into a little space like this, and just how much joy could be gained from writing and photography. I am striving to get better all the time and am so excited for what 2015 could bring to The Mix and Match. I have met and connected with some wonderful people through blogging, and am ever grateful to the support I have received from family and friends. Particularly my wonderful photographer, editor and all round spell checker boyfriend, Ger, and my best bloggy friend Lesley – without  the support of these two wonderful people, I don’t think I would have had to courage to start on one of the most fun and rewarding journeys of my life!

2014 started off like any other, champagne in my hand and resolutions in my head that are long forgotten. I could never have imagined the 365 days later, I would have a new job, a new home with my wonderful man and that I would have achieved a long held dream and ambition to start a blog. I was pointed in no particular direction when 2014 began, but with an open mind and hard work, some big and positive changes, not too mention happy memories, were made. So I’m heading full throttle into 2015 expecting nothing, and trying everything, and if it’s half as good as the past twelve months have been, I will be a most content and happy lady.

Happy New Year to you all and thank you so much for reading!! Here’s to 2015, I hope it’s wonderful for you and yours!

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

6 thoughts on “2014 Review

  1. Sounds like you had an amazing year! Really enjoyed reading this post and so glad I found your blog to follow. I only started my own blog this year too – in November. Hope you have as good a year next year as 2014 was and good luck with all of your blogging adventures, can’t wait to read more! x

  2. GAH! I just had a little cry! I KNEW YOU HAD IT IN YOU….and I like when I’m proven right 🙂
    Very proud of you for starting your blog, you’ve done an incredible job so far and I look forward to following your antics in 2015!
    So much love!
    L
    x

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

