Monday Mix and Match

Yaaaay, it’s officially the silly season  – happy December everyone!! Here’s another bumper Mix and Match for you all with some lipstick favourites, an interior find from Amsterdam and, for a change, good, featuring one of my favourite restaurants in Dublin at the moment, San Lorenzo’s. Grab a cuppa, and that tub of roses you were no doubt banned from opening until December, and enjoy!

Beauty& Other Stories Lipstick and Lip Pencil ReviewDusky Pink Lipstick and Kylie Jenner inspired Nude Lip Liner

I mentioned in my last Amsterdam post that I had made a little beauty purchase in H&M’s sister store, “& Other Stories”, a store I had bookmarked to visit the very second I heard I’d be visiting the city! Having fallen in love with the Scandi vibes and dreamy design of the store while in London last year, I’ve been stalking the website ever since and always seem to find myself back in their virtual beauty hall. The packaging is nothing short of delightful; and having purchased two lip products, the formulations certainly add punch to the aesthetically pleasing design. I could have bought so much more but my more rational side won, deciding that yes, two hand lotions, a bath set and bar of soap would send my bulging suitcase into excess baggage territory!

So of course I decided on my most purchased, most loved and most worn type of product: lipstick! This is an unusual colour for me actually – whereas I normally veering towards bright reds, corals and fuschia, this shade is the most beautiful dusky pink shade called “Bowknot Rose“. It’s a lovely go between a bright pink and nude and perfect for creating a soft, girly look for daytime. A totally practical purchase in my book!

Second is product of the moment (thank you Kylie J!) – lip liner. Yes I have fallen for the hype, and now I all I want is a perfectly lined and defined lip of an evening out. This pencil is in the shade “Tiretaine Blush”, which unfortunately doesn’t seem to be featured on the website, but Mac Cosmetics do very similar formulations is wonderful array of nudes. This particular one has a gorgeous creamy texture, which I have been wearing all over the lip with just a touch of rose vaseline of top (a define beauty bag must have, by the way!). It’s a brown toned, 90s-esque nude so perfect for the Kylie look,…if that’s what you’re into of course! I mainly love creating a lip with a pencil because it’s so easy to apply and it lasts all night.Anyone else loving good lip pencil at the mo?

Interiors

Concrete Bud Vase, House Doctor, DenmarkPink Roses in Concrete Bud Vase

Another purchase from Amsterdam here: this modern yet rustic bud vase, a juxtaposition of industrial concrete and pretty green ceramic from a Danish brand called House Doctor.  I love the trend for concrete vases and planters at the moment, and actually have a project like this written in my long list of DIY projects, mainly gathered on my Pinterest account. However. when I saw this vase for only €15 in a little design shop whilst on holiday, I couldn’t resist dipping my toe in the trend with a ready-made piece. Vases, bottles, jars, jugs: I collect anything that will hold a flower or two really, and this one is perfect for mixin’ and matchin’ with my existing collection. Blame my time spent in retails, but the displays in my house are constantly changing and being tidied, no item stays in the same room or position for very long. Great for keeping the place looking fresh, not so great when I move my keys and can’t find them again. And so this is currently sitting pretty on my coffee table with it’s to pink roses, alongside a vintage jug full of gerberas and a mini cactus…tomorrow, who knows!!

I also love that this piece something I never would have gotten in Ireland – for me this is what shopping whilst on holidays is all about, not just perusing the same old stuff we have at home! Unfortunately though, that means Irish readers won’t be able to get their hands on this beaitu but I’ve seen plenty similar styles online, particularly on handmade haven, Etsy, as well as a homegrown Irish brand Ail+El, who create absolutely beautiful planters for succulents concrete bedecked with geometric patterns and pastel colours.

FoodFrench Toast, Bacon, Maple Syrup - San Lorenzo's, DublinBrunch of Champions, San Lorenzo, Dublin

I haven’t posted about food in quite some time so I thought I’d share a restaurant in Dublin that has my tummy rumblin’ just writing about the food, never mind the drool inducing photos! First is somewhere that, if you live in the fair city and have a social media account you will have heard of: San Lorenzo’s, more specifically their weekend “Brunch of Champions”. Let me just say first off, this deserves the hype. Since brunch became “a thing” over the last while, I’ve made it my mission to make it well, my thing,. Breakfast food, at a lazier lunchtime hour was never gonna be hard to adapt to though, let’s face it people. San Lorenzo’s have one of the most extensive and varied brunch menus I’ve seen. All too often this means the quality of the food can suffer but this is not so in San Lorenzo’s, from what I tasted anyway! I opted for, what can only be described as, a mound of French toast with maple syrup and bacon, and my beau went for the Breakfast of Champions Fry which included all you see above plus a potato rosti layer, Boston baked beans and some thick cut toast Neither of us were disappointed in the slightest, with the only downside being that we had no room left for one of the scrumptious desserts (Pecan Pie with salt caramel ice-cream – I will be back for you!). I thought it was fantastic value too at €27 with tea, coffee and a fully belly till dinner. Enough outta me already, book your table asap. You can thank me later! Now, I just wish I hadn’t wrote this when breakfast is so far away…..

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

One thought on “Monday Mix and Match

  1. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

