Monday Mix and Match

A certain phrase came to mind when publishing this post…better late than never! My bad, but I have a darn good reason – a long weekend holiday to Amsterdam, it being one of the best I’ve ever been on! It’s a seriously beautiful city but I must say, by the time I got home I was feeling a little too tired to put it’s inspiration into action. But fear not, I’m planning to do a little travel post featuring some tips and recommendations for anyone who may be heading to Amsterdam soon – and if you like hundreds of pictures of canals, well… you’re in for a treat!haha. For now, here is my fashion, beauty and interiors round-up for this week. Enjoy!

Beauty

Seventeen Gel Colour Nail Polish

This budget nail polish is seriously impressive. Not so long ago, I posted about Seventeen Gel Colour Nail Polish, the beautifully vivid blue being my first foray into gel formula polishes. And when Seventeen were offering three for two on their products recently, I knew I wanted to add an everyday nude to my collection, something I was severely lacking in. Well let me tell you, this is the most gorgeous creamy, coffee shade, aptly named “Mocha-tini”. It’s perfect for any occasion, any outfit –  workday or weekend, this would look so pretty, classic as well as really on trend! And here’s the kicker – this is probably thee best long lasting formulation I’ve ever tried and the proof is the pudding. I painted my nails last Wednesday and then spent the next four days in Amsterdam.. and I’ve only just removed it this morning with one chip! That’s nearly a full week – this stuff is the bomb diggity and only at only a fiver, I can’t recommend Seventeen Gel Colour enough.

Interiors

H&M Marble Tray

H&M Home Marble Tray

Although we were in the ‘Dam for a family 30th and a weekend of celebrations, I still managed to find some time to pop into one or two (or several – sorry boyfriend!) shops. This city has some of the most beautifully curated concept shops I’ve ever seen, the whole area is a treasure trove of vintage, found objects and curiosities. However, I did get lured into the bright shininess of the high street but with good reason- H&M home! A place we Irish are completely deprived of here on little island, no delivery or nothin’! So, you know when you get butterflies in your stomach when you finally meet that special someone? Yeah, well that’s how I felt walking into the homewares department – sad, but entirely true! I’ve seen this marble tray on countless blogs and all over Pinterest, and in the flesh, it was love at first sight! The first stepping stone (if you’ll pardon the pun) to those dream marble counter tops, eh? Perfect for adding touch of luxury when displaying my Penneys jewellery anyway!

Fashion

Leopard Print Cocoon coat

I definitely dithered over whether I needed a new coat when I saw this…for about five seconds!!I never one to say no to a spot of animal print and this leopard cocoon coat from Penneys (Primark) is so snuggly and warm, with the added bonus of being utterly fabulous! I think the slightly more muted tones and boxy shape go a long way to making what can be a slightly garish print that bit more timeless and high-end. And I can definitely get over the fact that it’s it’s over-sized, cocoon shape makes me look like Bet Lynch’s beach ball!! If that’s sounds right up your street, it’s in Penneys now priced at €35.

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

4 thoughts on “Monday Mix and Match

  1. Pingback: Outfit Post: Winter in Amsterdam | The Mix and Match

  2. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

