Beauty Post: My Bodycare Routine

You’ve only got one body to last you a lifetime, so it’s imperative to look after yourself inside and out.  Of course a healthy body starts with eating well and exercising regularly – easier said than done but nonetheless important and, for the most part, enjoyable (the latter does not generally extend to squats or eating broccoli). But taking care of your skin is a guaranteed way to make yourself feel great – I for one love nothing more than setting aside a night or two a week to pamper and preen myself from head to toe. I’m talking full exfoliation, slathering yourself in every cream at your disposal, nails painted, the works! But time is generally of the essence these days so here is a round-up of what I’ve managed to incorporate into my daily routine to feel silky smooth and ready to take on the world.

Bodycare Products

It all starts in the shower, when the dirt of the day gets washed away and you can start again with a blank canvas, so to speak. I have really sensitive skin also, combined with eczema so finding the right shower products is really important to me. I am a big fan of this Sanex shower/bath gel. It feels lovely and gentle and leaves you feeling squeaky clean, moisturised and not at all irritated.

Exfoliation is a big part of my shower routine too. I normally splash out on my favorite Soap and Glory Breakfast scrub (not pictured here – I am holding out for my usual gigantic gift set Christmas haul *not so subtle hint*). If you are feeling the pinch with gift giving season on the approach, and like myself have to choose eating and getting to work over expensive exfoliator, another great alternative is to make your own! Coconut oil (warmed slightly to it’s liquid form) and some brown sugar is all you need to feel soft as silk – it works an absolute treat. Just don’t use this before applying any sort of tan, as the oil will ruin the application and you will most likely find yourself streakier than a piece of bacon!

Bodycare Products 2

A product I’ve recently discovered and have added to my shower routine is La Roche-Posay Lipikar Syndet Anti-Irritation Cleansing Body Cream/Gel (Try saying that after a glass of wine!). I’m a big fan of everything this French pharmacy brand has to offer (I’ve posted about the fabulous Effaclar Duo here). I spotted this in my local chemist and it’s description immediately struck a chord with me. I am cursed with problem skin, with my legs being the main bearer of itchy and irritated eczema, with constant red blemishes and rashes. It’s something I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m very self-conscious of, and I have often thanked my lucky stars that I live in a country where black opaques are socially acceptable for most of the year! This product has really helped with the problem though, even with using it every second or third day – at €9 a pop it might not be the one for 30 minute long, shaving the legs, kinda showers but for truly dry or problem skin it’s a welcome addition in the bathroom.

The next step is the holy grail of feeling like a new woman after a shower: I’m talking body brushing. This has honestly been one discovery that makes me feel like a sassy little thaaang with my legs out!ha This is particularly essential for those of us whose lineage has been kind enough to pass on the dreaded c-word…Yes, you guessed right… cellulite. The word that strikes both fear and knowing into the hearts of woman across Ireland and beyond, and I for one am in the unfortunate category of being veeery familiar with the problem! At the end of the day, it’s natural and there a worse things in life than looking a little dimpled but still, it’s nice to feel confident in your appearance. Body brushing is one of those things that really helps achieve this – it gets the blood flowing, and as a result your skin looks brighter and tighter. Take it from me, if you add one thing to your daily routine – make it this!

Bodycare Products Review with Garnier, La Roche-Posay, Sanex and Victoria's Secret

For all other body beautiful maintenance, I turn to Garnier. For me, it’s tried and tested and works really well with my skin. I use the Intensive Seven Days Moisturising Lotion, their Ultimate Anti-Cellulite Oil and for the rare occasions when I don’t resemble Casper, the “Summer Body” moisturing tan. The latter is not pictured here, but it’s perfect for the paler among us who want a gradual, natural looking hint of colour…and also, if the orange goo of other brands scares the living bejaysus out of you! This products all leave me feeling soft as silk, soaking quickly into the skin with no residual stickiness.

Not strictly bodycare, but I always finish with a generous spritz of the light, fruity “Secret Charm” Victoria’s Secret body spray. I picked this up on a recent trip to the States and am honestly panicking about when it runs out and I can’t get it again, save for in Dublin airport! Victoria, if you’re reading…we need your wares on the Irish high street!

Now you are all shiny and new, all that’s left is to snuggle up in fresh sheets with a cup of tea and a good book. It may not constitute being one the cool kids but this is my ideal Friday night! What’s yours? Do you incorporate body skincare into your everyday routine or is it a once a week indulgence? Would love to hear your thoughts and of course, if you any tips on how you keep yourself feelin’ so fresh and so clean (or to get rid of cellulite forever!), sling ’em my way in the comments!

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

3 thoughts on “Beauty Post: My Bodycare Routine

  1. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

