Monday Mix and Match

This Monday is a very exciting one for me as I’m heading off on holiday to Amsterdam this Thursday – smug, me? Never! 😉 Anyway, here’s what’s floatin’ my boat in fashion, beauty and interiors this week…

Beauty

Glow Highlighter in Polish, Topshop Makeup

Topshop Glow Pot in Polish

Let it glow, let it glow, let it glow…See what I did there? I am all about “the glow” at the moment, and now that our winter climate is here to stay for at least another four months, I think we could probably all use a little help in this department (that, plus maybe a Vitamin D supplement!). I’m embracing my paleness this season and highlighting everything in sight with Topshop’s Glow pot in “Polish”, a pearly pot of goodness from their fabulous make-up range. The bronze “Gleam” version of this was featured as part of “Top Five Makeup Staples” post, and is still a firm favourite but as I said, I’m properly embracing the pale at the moment and this cream, cool toned highlighter suits me perfectly. Having oily skin, I much prefer to use a matte foundation with powder and let my highlighter do all the talkin’ and I also find a cream formula like this gives a much more natural luminosity than a powder highlighter. Once my make-up is finished I pat this on my cheekbones, under the arches of my brows and the cupid bow for my attempt at looking glowing and healthy…it definitely helps when you’ve been out the night before anyway, as tends to happen over the sparkly season! A make-up bag must have in my opinion!

Fashion

Penneys Burgindy Patent Loafers

Penneys Wine Patent Loafer Flats

Another pair of flat shoes, I don’t know what’s come over me! I’m not a huge shoe addict in the first place, with a tendency to find one pair of black boots that I LOVE and wear them until they fall apart. It’s been an even longer time since I’ve deigned to buy myself a pair of flats, but in the same day I purchased flat pointed Chelsea boots, featured in last week’s Mix and Match, as well as the cutest little burgundy patent loafers from Penneys, which you can see above. I am not one for flat pumps at all, I thin k this is my first pair since my school days! But I was inexplicably drawn to the classic style of these tasseled loafers, so just when my care worn shopping partner thought his Penneys ordeal was coming to an end, I sprinted back upstairs and grabbed these…not like we’d lready spent 30 minutes in the shoe department or anything! I had visions in my head of just how cute they would look with thick grey tights or a cropped, printed pant. I can’t wait to give my feet a break for once anyway!

Interiors

Mugs from Carolin Donnelly Eclectic for Dunnes Stores

Caroline Donnelly for Dunnes Stores Mugs

Like most Irish folk, I’m love a good cuppa tea…first thing in the morning, “elevenses”, the three o’clock slump, after dinner – any excuse really! And I know this might divide opinion, but Lyons Gold Blend, all the way! Cups may not be the most exciting purchase for everyone out there, but for me, being able to display the things you use on a daily basis is part of what makes your home quirky, unique and most of all, personal. These four oversized cups are from the Caroline Donnelly “Eclectic” range for that stalwart amongst Irish retail, Dunnes Stores. Dunnes have really upped the stakes on the interiors front over the past number of years, and thank goodness for that as, in my opinion, there is an absolute dearth of affordable and well-designed homeware outlets in Ireland (H&M and Zara home – we need you!!). They have something and then some to suit everyone’s taste – with their own brand ranges of cookware staples and basic home accessories, as well as ranges from Paul Costelloe, Helen James and of course, Caroline Donnelly. Donnelly herself was once one part of established Irish fashion duo “Quin and Donnelly” and has now turned her hand to a kooky and fun interior touches for the store. I love everything about the range – from the unusual colour combinations of teal, red and lime, the Japanese style prints combined with old school florals, the lush fabrics and fantastic quality ceramics. It exudes originality and flair – eclectic by name, eclectic by nature! There are even Christmas decorations that I firmly have my beady eye on! Back on subject, these cups make for the perfect cuppa, whatever time of the day…and there’s a lot to be said for that!

Note to self: do not take photos involving chocolate before your breakfast, you won’t stand a chance…

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

5 thoughts on “Monday Mix and Match

  1. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

