Outfit Post: Polka Dot Trousers

Denim Jacket, Graphic Tee and Polka Dot Trousers

Primark Jewellery, vintage style bag, polka dot trousers

This past summer, I conquered my deep rooted fear of a printed, tapered trousers with this printed jumpsuit, but since nothing else has quite taken my fancy enough to make a purchase. But when I saw these polka dot beauties in Penneys/Primark t’other day, my fate was sealed. Ever since I pinned this picture, I’ve been a tad obsessed with procuring a pair of dotty trousers. And whilst I doubt I will ever nail the effortless style and cool insouciance that this lady possesses in wearing her spotted pants, these ones are damn easy, and fun, to style. And only a tenner too – Penneys, you never let me down!

Of course my love of polka dots knows no bounds (as you may be able to tell if you look either side of this here rambling paragraph). It subconsciously translates into almost every aspect of my life – in decorating my home, myself and of course, my little internet space here on The Mix and Match. I’m constantly drawn to anything littered with spots! Partly owed to the fact that when it comes to styling ’em, the world is your sartorial oyster – denim, print, stripes, bright colours, earthy tones, monochrome – I dare you to name something wouldn’t look impossibly chic with a lil’ polka dot or two.

River Island Denim JAcket and Slogan Tee, Penneys Polka Dot Trousers

The shape of these trousers however was still a cause for concern as the looser fit around the bum and ankles were a far cry from my usual skinny jean safety net. And let me tell you, my shape does require any extra volume created with material! So this oversized River Island was the order of the day, helping me feel a little less self-conscious in adjusting once again to this new silhouette. It doesn’t hurt that this cover up is gloriously eighties in it’s bigger cut and acid wash. Hey, a little retro never hurt nobody (mullets and leg warmers, notwithstanding).

Topshop Lipstick in Innocent

I must not have been feeling at all myself this day as I rallied against my natural proclivity to paint my pout with red or fuchsia. Instead I opted for this, decidedly girly, pink shade – a terribly neglected tube of lipstick named “Innocent” from the fabulous Topshop range. I got this as part of an amazing Christmas set last year, which I’m hoping they will have once again! It’s honestly just so easy to wear and even nicer in the flesh, if I do say so myself!  Definitely check out what Toppers has to offer in the cosmetic department next time you’re in your local branch – I wouldn’t have a bad word to say about any product I’ve tried. From lipsticks, to blush, nail varnish and highlighter, I love it all! Have you tried any Topshop makeup products and can recommend? I would love to hear your picks!

Until next time xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

4 thoughts on “Outfit Post: Polka Dot Trousers

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

