Monday Mix and Match

Two posts in two days – when did I get so darn productive and good at life?! Taking your photos at the weekend instead of frantically setting up shots in the fast fading Monday evening light really makes a difference. Well that, and eating such a big lunch that you don’t need to cook a complicated dinner! For once, my eyes being bigger than my belly has worked to my advantage, and so here is my timely weekly round-up of fashion, beauty and interiors..

Beauty

Seventeen Phwoarr Paint Concealer in Medium

Seventeen Phwoarr Painte HEavy Duty Concealer

Oh Seventeen; you had me at “heavy duty”. Those clever beauty marketing experts sure know how to appeal to my insecure side, and as I’ve mentioned a number of times before, my under eye bags and dark circles are most certainly a constant bugbear of mine. I posted my recent purchases for this problem area a while back (See that post here) and by now I am coming to the end of my Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer. I ended up really liking it, but I can never resist purchasing something shiny and new. Add that to the fact Seventeen has a 3 for 2 offer in Boots at the moment and there was no doubt I would be swayed to the dark side (that being the side where money you should be saving is instead spent on makeup, to be more specific). I’ve read a fair few reviews of this Seventeen Phwoarr Paint (Top marks for the name!) and, at only €6.99, thought it would be no harm to jump on the bandwagon. I also had my eye on the new brow kit that Seventeen have released so it worked out perfectly. I was spoiled for choice and had a very hard time choosing what extra product to pick up as part of the offer (cue thirty minutes staring at the display overwhelmed by the sheer volume of beauty goodies). In the end I bought another of my favourite gel nail varnishes – I will review that and the brow palette soon!

But onto the concealer – this product does exactly what it says on the tin. It’s heavy duty perfection. I’m talking post hangover, up all night, winter flu, miracle worker! It evens out skin tone and texture and made me look bright eyed and bushy tailed this morning – something I don’t think anyone is on a Monday morningt! The one thing I will say is that it’s so thick and creamy that it had caked slightly by lunchtime, but I buffed it out with my finger and was good as new. A major plus is that it comes in compact form with a mirror – so no worries about trying to reapply using your grainy selfie cam (just me?). I had intended to buy the shade “fair” but sod’s law, they were out of this so I bought the “medium” tone. And it’s absolutely fine, not too dark even on my pale skin, with a lovely salmon/peach tone to colour correct any darkness under the eye. I will give it another week or two of using this before I decide whether to repurchase, but so far, so good! Have any of you tried Seventeen Phwoarr Paint and if so, how did you find it?

Interiors

Vintage French Milking Machine Sign

One of these days I will up sticks and hightail it to the South of France to live out my days surrounded by antiques and lavender fields. Until then, I will just have to bring as much vintage French fabulous-ness into my small Dublin apartment as possible. This sign was a flea market find by my boyfriend’s Mam, who very kindly asked if we would like it for our home– safe to say I said oui oui without any hesitation. I immediately knew I wanted to hang it in the kitchen against our faux brick wallpaper (some day I will have the real thing!). I’m currently trying to research the exact origin of the sign but a quick internet search has informed me that it refers to milking machines – if anyone can shed any further light on this, do let me know! But let’s face it, it could say something impossibly rude and would still seem chic en francais. For now, I’m quite happy that it just looks so pretty and full of history, with its battered metal and muted primary tones.  As Leandra Medine, of Man Repeller fame, would say… am I French yet?

Fashion

Zara Breton Top and Red Roses

Again, am I French yet? Ladies, I am that bit closer to owning the much sought after, holy grail of Breton tops – high neck , thick material and perfect balance of black stripes on white. what else you one expect from that mecca of classic European style; Zara. This was actually a very thoughtful gift from my man chum. He will be mortified, but we celebrated five years together this past weekend and boy does he know me well after all this time – red roses and classic stripes, two things of my favourite things in life. This striped beauty is a slightly over-sized, sweatshirt style, that I can see keeping me cosy and stylish all year round! The perfect wardrobe staple, safe to say I was absolutely chuffed. The bar has definitely been set for Christmas this year – don’t think I’ll get away with a pair of Christmas tree socks and a Terry’s Chocolate Orange this year!

Until next time! xx

4 thoughts on “Monday Mix and Match

  1. Love this! The striped sweater is absolutely perfect. I’ve put your blog in an article about my favourite British bloggers a few days ago, thought it would be nice to let you know 🙂 xx

  2. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

  3. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

