Beauty Review: Wet N Wild Colour Icon Palette in Comfort Zone

A few weekends ago myself and my pal Lesley (of beautiful beauty blog Bellinis and Blush!), trotted along to the Clarence Hotel for brunch with Wet n Wild Cosmetics and innovative new Irish website BEUTiFi.com. Let me tell you, there are very few things that would get me up out of my bed before midday on a Saturday but one of those things is definitely make-up…and croissants, anything for croissants! We were spoiled rotten on all fronts – a voucher to use on BEUTiFi.com, a heap of Wet N Wild goodies, hair and make-up demos, and yes, many a pastry too!

First up, if you’re a fashion or beauty addict living in Ireland, BEUTiFi.com is a must visit. Your one stop shop for all things pampering, BEUTiFi provides an incredibly handy website, housing the names and contact details for salons and freelance professionals providing beauty services in a specific area. Absolutely ideal if you’re heading to an unfamiliar place for a hen night or wedding and need to get glam, or even for discovering new and undiscovered beauty meccas in your local area. What are you waiting for guuurls?! They have also launched their own gift voucher which is “one for all” style and can be used in any of the salons listed on the site – perfect for the hard to buy for ladies in your life.

And then came…the make-up! We were provided with a plethora of this season’s Wet N Wild goodies and my gosh, was I a happy little beauty blogger to see the most divine palette in the pile, just crying out to create the most perfect bronze smokey eye..

Wet N Wild Colour Icon Palette - Comfort Zone

Wet N Wild Confort Zone Palette

This palette is nothing short of foolproof. Part of Wet n Wild’s Colour Icons collection, these neutral shades is named “Comfort Zone”. Very apt in that not only does it comprise of beautiful neutral tones to suit every skin tone, it also comes with the locations of exactly where to put each shade on the eye printed on the shadows themselves. Hands up if you ever stared at a eyeshadow palette full of gloriously smokey hues and textures, only to get a bit overwhelmed and do your regular ol’ brown shadow plus liner combo. Guilty as charged! Particularly as I have such fair skin, I find the black and grey smokey eye so often seen just does not work for me…i.e. it ends up looking like I haven’t slept for several days or that I’ve gone ten rounds with Katie Taylor! So I was delighted to see some lovely, brown hues in this little gem of a palette.

Swatches - Wet N Wild Comfort Zone Eyeshadow Palette

The swatches above are the brown toned side of the palette. From left to right: Definer, Crease, Eyelid and Browbone (which you can just about see – didn’t I tell you I was pale!). Aside from it’s paint by numbers approach, hands down the best thing about this palette is the texture of the shadows. Beautiful shimmer, easy to blend and best of all? No fallout. None. Normally I have to spend equally as long as I did putting ON the make-up, fussing at my face with a cotton bud trying to clean up the mess that has found its way onto my under eye area and cheeks. I was pleasantly surprised that this was not the case, and my carefully applied base stayed just that. We are generally advised otherwise in magazine/beauty tutorials, but I always like to apply my foundation, concealer and brows before doing my eye makeup, as it gives me an idea of how strong/what shape to go with on the eyes. But hey, that’s just me! With this palette, it’s certainly a good way to go – a lot less spring cleaning to do afterward! I could only manage to take a photo with my phone so apologies for the quality, but here is my attempt at a darker, bronze eye for night time..

Bronze Smokey Eye, Wet n Wild PaletteFor the most part I stuck to the guide on these shadows and created the look using the following steps:

  • First I applied Mac Paint Pot in “Painterly” all over the eyelid – this is a fantastic, nude coloured product which evens out the tone and texture of eyelid giving a nice smooth blank canvas, if you will, to work on.
  • I used lightest shade to highlight under the brow and also in the corners of the eyes, bringing it slightly onto the eyelid and under the eye too.
  • I applied the light shimmery brown “eyelid” shade (which is not as orange toned as it looks on my hand, more like a lovely shimmering bronze) all over the lid as suggested.

Then I changed it up slightly to create more intense, evening look.

  • I used the “crease” shade more so on the outer portion of the eye, as well as blending it across the entire crease,
  • Then I applied the definer shade in the outer crease, bringing it out and down along the outer side of the eye (in a “V” shape following the crease and down to the outer lashes.) and right down under the lower lashes. This gives a much more intense smokey eye, perfect for night time.
  • I instead used black liquid liner to create a small flick (I my own personal hero product, Rimmel Glam’Eyes Liquid Eye Liner). A tip I find really helpful in creating the perfect feline flick: apply your mascara before the eyeliner. Then, with your eyes open, create a small, one line flick going in the direction of your outermost lash. This really helps with getting the right angle to suit your eye. Then close the eye, lightly pull the skin taut (if needs be) and apply your liner as close to the lashes as possibly, eventually joining up with your previously created flick. Again, having mascara on already really helps in judging just how close to the lash line you need to get.
  • Finally, I some brown eyeliner along the water liner, so the looked stayed soft and smokey, and finished of with lashings of mascara on the lower lashes.

I have one word of advice if you are going to attempt a dark eye: blend. And when you think you’re done, blend some more! I always use a clean brush at the very end to make sure there are no harsh lines and the shadows blend together to create that ombre, smokey look. All you need then to finish it off is some light contouring, a good brow and a nude lip – a glam look for sippin’ on cocktails all night long! I am by no means an expert at make-up but it’s something I really enjoy – does anyone else find it’s the most fun part of a night out? In any case, this palette makes getting ready that bit more relaxing and enjoyable – I would highly recommend for smokey eyes experts and novices alike! Let me know if you’ve used this product and if you found it as handy as I did – would love to hear your thoughts!

Until next time! xx

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

