Outfit Post: Autumn Layers

Leaves littering the ground? Sun beaming, low in the sky? Nip in the air? Check, Check, Check… Guys, I don’t mean to alarm you but grab your neglected winter woollies and the nearest cup of hot chocolate, because Autumn is here!

Autumn Leaves in Dublin

Dublin Ducks!

Topshop Tweed Coat, Primark Cable Knit Jumper and Grey Knitted Skirt

Coat – Topshop (Similar) // Jumper and Skirt – Penneys (Primark) // Necklace – H&M

Scarf – River Island (Similar) // Boots – Boohoo

Sunday was one of those perfect Dublin days…sunny and cold, with my man chum by my side. We ventured out for an afternoon jaunt in the park to admire the changing colours above out heads and under our feet. After stopping to feed the ducks, I must say we got  got a tad jealous of their gluttony and ambled in the direction of the nearest cosy pub for a most romantic…carvery. As I said on my Twitter, the heart wants what it wants… and a hungover head wants a gigantic roast even more!

Autumn Layers

Textures and Layers - Primark Skirt and Jumper, Topshop Coat, River Island Scarf

It was also a day that I decided, if I was going to fully commit to winter dressing from then on, I may as well go hell for leather…or wool to be more precise. I must say, I am quite content to pile more and more layers on as the weeks fly by and the air gets that bit crisper. Hence, my slightly Michelin Man-esque proportions in these photos…swathes of wool and a cocoon coat will do that to a girl. But I just adore the mix of textures here – the fine knit of the skirt; the oversized and chunky cable knit jumper and the grainy, knobbly material of this tweed Topshop coat. The coat itself is from two seasons ago, which speaks volumes about the benefit of investing money into outerwear (even if this was a cheeky gift from my boy!), in the fact it’s still in one piece and looks as relevant as ever in the grand scheme of this season’s coat styles. It also came with an utterly over the top, fabulous, detachable fur collar, one which I must root out of the ether on my next trip to my mammy’s house – perfect for adding that touch of old school glamour.

Lace detail on Primark Grey Knitted Skirt

The lace trim on this knitted skirt is a lovely finishing touch, and a nice nod to the slip style dresses that are so popular at the moment. I featured both it, and the jumper, in a recent Mix and Match post, so it seemed a natural progression to pair the two together. And with a subtle “half-tuck”, I think the proportions of this oversized knit and rather fitted skirt work really well together, particularly when the basic motivation to get dressed and leave the house was a gigantic feed – the forgiving waistband and cosy coverup was darn tootin’ good idea! I just absolutely love this this time of year…now, can someone remind me of all this seasonal enthusiasm when I’m moaning about my inevitably soggy socks and runny nose come January? Please and thanks!

I’d love to know what your idea of a perfect Sunday is, outfit and all – do let me know in the comments!

Until next time! xx

Follow: Bloglovin // Twitter // Instagram

6 thoughts on “Outfit Post: Autumn Layers

  1. Love this post! The pictures are gorgeous. I have the same Topshop coat and I’m still loving it this season. Grey goes with everything. Got to love Topshop!

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

