Monday Mix and Match

It’s hard to believe it’s that time of the week again, isn’t it? And once again, I have my mix and match of all things beautiful and yummy!

Food

Hummingbird Bakery Red Velvet

Red Velvet Cupcakes

I actually had to work this weekend so for once I wanted to spend some time at home. Aside from washing and cleaning (which I’m sure you don’t want an update on but do let know! Hehe), I decided add to my baking repertoire and make an attempt at my absolute favourite – Red Velvet Cupcakes. Frankly I’m surprised this was my first time, I am that obsessed! I used this recipe and overall I would give the results a 7/10. They sank a little in the middle after coming out of the oven so next time I might attempt to add a small bit of baking powder along with the bicarbonate of soda. They also weren’t as red as typical Red Velvet, but this was due to the fact I was using a gel colouring and had no clue of measurement. Clearly it didn’t affect the taste though – I could hardly manage to save this many to photograph! I also cheated a bit and used the Betty Crocker Cream Cheese frosting – just as good as the real thing and so darn tasty!

Fashion

Penneys  Double Pearl Earring and Gold BraceletWell, I have officially reached the time of the month where I’m on a strict budget until payday i.e. I can only spend money on getting myself to and from work or keeping myself alive (chocolate and magazines are necessary for this, right?). But you know that feeling when you just need something shiny and new in your life, a pick me up of sorts? Well thank goodness for Penneys jewellery – only €3.50 for that rush of shopping adrenaline and smile on your face, not to mention some pretty snazzy earlobes and wrists. I simple jewellery and I can’t wait to wear these new double pearl earrings and delicate gold bangle. I love the kind of jewellery that can make an impact worn on it’s own or layered up with other pieces – and both of these are perfect for that!

beauty

Soap and Glory Hocus Focus Highlighter

Unlike, food or jewellery there is definitely no euros left in the lipstick fund. Safe to same I’m avoiding Boots like the plague. As that famous Oscar Wilde quote goes, “I can resist everything but temptation”. So I thought I’d share a product which I bought a while ago and have recently rediscovered. Read: I’ve so much make-up already that I forgot I owned it! Time for a clear out me thinks. However this wonder product is staying firmly in my stash – Soap and Glory “Hocus Focus” Illuminator. Particularly since I’ve been sticking to my paler shade of foundation, my skin needed a bit of a lift. I add this a blob of this to my foundation every morning (blob is the official measurement of course) giving a subtle bit of radiance to my complexion. Even my boyfriend said this evening that I had a nice glow – although that could have been because I had just power walked home from the bus stop! All jokes aside, this is a great product to have in your make-up bag, one of the better highlighters I’ve tried.

Interiors

Urban Outfitters Vintage Movie Posters

When it comes to interiors and decorating my apartment I am completely torn between two opposing styles – simple, modern, Scandinavian style with various shades of black, white and grey OR a colourful, kitsch, romantic vintage aesthetic. What has resulted is a kind of an smorgasbord of the two – one that I’m pretty darn happy about if I’m honest. However, the one thing that’s definitely missing is beautiful, quirky art to fill the walls. I actually feel there is no point in rushing to fill them up and buying pieces for the sake of it. I would love a gallery wall but I think the fun is in collecting unique and personal works over time, on your travels and adventures, not just purchasing with the idea of creating a display then and there. That said, I’ve been on the hunt for some vintage movie posters for a while now, and while these Urban Outfitters prints clearly aren’t the real thing, when it’s €15 for eight, you can’t go far wrong! Plus one of my all-time favourite movies, and stars, is Gene Kelly in Singin’ in the Rain. I think I love shopping for interiors so much because seeing as it’s technically for both our homes my boyfriend has to split the cost with me – Muahahaha! I couldn’t find these posters online but they have them in store right now – happy shopping!

Until next time!! x

6 thoughts on “Monday Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

