Outfit Post: Crop Top and Midi Skirt

Missguided Midi Skirt and H andM White Crop Top

Missguided Pink Midi Skirt, Penneys Strappy Sandals

Crop Top and Gold Necklace – H&M 

Skirt – Missguided 

Strappy Sandals – Penneys/Primark

This has to be my absolute favourite combination at the moment – the crop top and midi skirt. This simple white top has been a consummate companion to my summer outfits, and at only €3 in H&M I HAD to buy it in a few different colours. Safe to say my friends and family have become well acquainted with the sight of my midriff these past few months – and by midriff I mean the smallest sliver of tummy I can bare to show off. Who needs toned abs when you’ve got high waisted skirts, eh? Pass the biscuits!

There is something altogether refreshing and current about the midi length, particularly when compared to it’s leg flashing sister, the mini.  Not that there’s anything wrong with flirty short skirts – believe me, I have a wardrobe full of what I can only describe as glorified belts in various colours, prints and shapes. But this Missguided beauty has an old school elegance to it, updated for 2014 with a shocking pop of pink, with lots more tempting styles to choose from on the website too. Plus the length du jour eliminates the possibility of spending an entire night with your hand clamped firmly on the hem of your skirt, yanking it down for fear of indecent exposure whilst getting your groove on.

You’d be hard pressed to flick through any magazine at the moment and not see this style and any resemblance of this one to a “Grease” style, poodle skirt is purely coincidental – nothing to with the fact I’m a musical FANATIC…..*hand jives*

No matter what the influence, my lower length skirt collection seems to be growing with every fresh shopping trip and thankfully, I don’t think this trend is going anywhere, anytime soon.  Not sure I’m brave enough yet to pair with flat shoes, but I’m certainly having a lot of fun styling up my midi selection for the coming months of chilly weather.

H and M White Crop Top and Necklace, Catrice Pink Lipstick

Catrice Ultimate Colour lipstick in Pinkadilly Circus

This pale pink shade of lipstick is a bit of departure from my usual “go bold or go home” mantra, but I absolutely loved wearing it. Its an incredibly moisturising and easy to apply shade from my favourite budget beauty brand, Catrice. I’ve mentioned Catrice products a number of times before, having huge love for their camouflage concealer and nail varnish. But if had to choose the stand out offering from the range it would be the Ultimate Colour lipsticks. I own three varying shades of pink, funny enough and, although they generally aren’t my go-to over my beloved reds and corals, light pink is a great alternative when you need something a little less bold and little more wearable. The shade I’m wearing is number 210, “Pinkadilly Circus” which has a lovely glossy appearance, making your lips look slightly plumper too.  It applies to leave a more sheer appearance on a bare lip than first glance would suggest, but I reckon with a good pink lip liner applied beforehand, the colour pay-off would rocket. It looks so pretty with just a slick of eye liner and a hint of rosy blusher for a subtle and girly look, and would work equally well on pale skin, or hint a of tan like I have (which is purely bottled, I might add!).

Let me know if you’re loving or hating the midi skirt trend. I would absolutely love to hear how you style yours, or even better, leave a link in the comments if you’ve seen any must have styles!

Until next time lovelies! x

4 thoughts on “Outfit Post: Crop Top and Midi Skirt

  1. Oh I LOVE this outfit on you! How pretty!
    I bought my first midi skirt recently, it’s currently at the alterations place to mend a broken zip, hence why I bought it for peanuts in a recent River Island sale! Not something I’ve ever worn, a bit apprehensive, but I do love the trend.
    I shall be giving it it’s first outing next week!

    Nice flowers 🙂

    • Thanks Lesley! A very good friend gifted me with my beautiful blooms, I might add 😉

      I think this length is surprisingly easy to wear, but I definitely apprehensive at first – being shorter of limb an all! But I love em now, they are so different and fun to wear! Can’t wait to see you in your bargain buy! x

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

