Monday Mix and Match

I can’t believe it’s Monday again! As per usual the weekend went by in a whirlwind, but not without a few cheeky purchases and days out, natch.

Clueless at the Sugar Club

First up was a midweek trip to the Sugar Club in Dublin for a screening of that, like, totally classic movie “Clueless” – one of my absolute favourites, and a great idea for a gurls night out. Next up is “Mean Girls” in October, get your tickets before they sell out #youcantsitwithus

Bathroom Rules Sign from Dunnes Stores

I am constantly on the lookout for cute and quirky items for my apartment. Having only moved in three months ago, I’m slowly building up my collection of trinkets, furniture and art. Eye-catching and unique graphic design is a huge passion of mine (we’re talking HOURS lost to Pinterest here) and those close to me will know, I particularly love a good font! So when I spotted this framed poster for €6 in Dunnes Stores, it was in my basket before you could say Comic Sans. Plus, it ain’t a bad idea to have a gentle reminder of the rules in a strategic position when you live with a boy!

La Roche Posay Effaclar duo

Although I will admit to being a novice when it comes to “grown-up” skincare, this La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo is without doubt my favourite beauty purchase of the last while. I’m a sucker for the simple packaging of this stalwart French Pharmacy brand and fortunately the benefits go a long way to back up it’s aesthetic. This product promises that soothe and lighten blemishes, smooth out imperfections and reduce oiliness. I’m lucky in that I don’t too suffer with spots too often, but my skin is far from perfect. Since making this gel/cream hybrid a part of my skincare routine I’ve seen a marked change in the look of my skin. My redness has dramatically and it looks much brighter too – always a good thing when the Dublin sky has decided to rock a very trendy palette of grey, grey, and…a bit more grey. It also claims to be a great base for make-up and for me, this is definitely the main selling point. By the end of the day, my normally shiny face is decidedly matte, and my make-up still feels fresh and light. Definitely worth the near €20 price tag, and I most certainly be repurchasing.

This One is Mine by Maria Semple

A combination of a short attention span and obsession with magazines, means I don’t read books as much, or as quickly, as I’d like to.  I last read “How to Build a Girl” by Caitlin Moran (which I posted about weeks ago – see, I cannot sit down and finish a book!), and it was genuinely laugh out loud funny. Moran is unashamedly honest and foul-mouthed in her writing, much to the advantage of her readers and the disadvantage of my fellow bus passengers who had to deal with my obnoxious guffawing at 8am whilst I made my way through the story of Johanna Morrigan and her reinvention. I’d highly recommend “How to Build a Girl” to everyone but the easily offended. In fact, read anything by Moran and I can’t imagine you being disappointed!

So, with a long train journey on the cards this week, I headed for the aisles of my local Easons to realise…how hard it is to pick a book!! If you don’t have a recommendation and are short on time, you quite literally have to judge a book by it’s cover. And the style of “This One is Mine” by Maria Semple is right up my street. I’ve also read another of Semple’s novels, “Where’d You Go, Bernadette”, so I knew I was in safe hands.

I’d love to hear if you guys have any must-reads at the moment too – feel free to leave a comment below!

Jamie's Italian Dundrum

Says it all really! Every weekend should finish with a combination the above – pizza, pasta and a gigantic, naughty dessert. I’m a big fan of Mr. Oliver and Jamie’s Italian in Dundrum is always a good bet…just look at that brownie!! My other courses didn’t last long enough to be photographed but rest assured, they were delicious, with mozzarella and tomato arancini to start and a very posh take on Spag Bol for the main offering – as the Irish Mammy would say, it was far from breadcrumbs on Spaghetti Bolognese that you were reared!

Time to start planning next weekend I reckon!

4 thoughts on “Monday Mix and Match

  1. Pingback: Beauty Post: My Bodycare Routine | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

