Outfit Post: Night Dressin’

1

Forever 21 Slip Dress, Penneys Parka and bracelet

Topshop backpack

I can only apologise for my bitchy resting face in the middle photo – I seem to have a particular talent for closing my eyes the minute a camera is pointed at me, and this was me trying my best not to blink. Somehow, I don’t think I’ll be giving up my administrative career to become a model anytime soon! Anyway – the clothes… I’m being drawn more and more to going out in my pjs it seems – although not in that infamous Irish way, heading down to the local Tesco in your patterned, fleecy bottoms. Slip dresses are just so easy to throw on – light and feminine and delightfully easy to style.  With this look I went for the more is more approach, but this dress could easily be worn for a night out on the tiles with dainty chain and barely there, strappy sandals. Not this time though: mainly because mother nature was feeling a tad hormonal methinks – sunny and uncomfortably hot one minute, cloudy and cold the next.  A pair of sheer tights was the perfect accompaniment to this Forever 21 slip dress, worn loose (stepping out of my belted comfort zone, for once), along with a light parka jacket.  The latter was great find in Penneys. Originally meant to be a small cropped style, I bought it a couple of sizes up (and on the sale rack, €7!) and it is so easy to throw on over everything.  I love khaki as a neutral, and in my opinion, a parka like this is great year-round outerwear staple.

This Topshop backpack was love at first sight.  Beautifully structured and roomy to boot, it was pre-holiday purchase that has been stuck to my back ever since.  Always a plus to have room for make-up, hairbrush, notebook, sunglasses, water, snacks etc too – I never said I was low-maintenance!

Penneys Bracelet, Catrice Nail Polish
This bracelet is a recent Penneys find – €3 for this Chanel dead-ringer, not too shabby!  Pearls have been slowly losing their “prim and proper” connotations of late, with no small thanks to Mr Lagerfield, and I have a feeling they’re going to all over the high street this Autumn – snap this bad boy up while you can (and FYI, there is also a choker version – run!). Ironically my nail polish is the Catrice shade that I recently posted about called “Karl Says Très Chic” – this pairing was meant to be!

5 thoughts on “Outfit Post: Night Dressin’

  1. Pingback: Outfit Post: Aran Jumper and Floral Slip | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

