Monday Mix and Match

I love these posts! They force to get up off my arse and make the most of my weekend – come hell or hangover!

Nails in Rimmel Lasting Finish - Disco Ball

What would a Saturday night be without a bit of sparkle, eh?  And this one was particularly special as it was a very good friend’s 30th birthday – we celebrated and boogied until we weren’t so sparkly anymore.  The shimmering effect of this Rimmel nail polish doesn’t come across too well in the photo, but believe me, it lives up to it’s name – shimmering, disco ball nails!!

I haven’t bought that much in the way of clothes these past two weeks (Payday, will you ever come?  I feel like you’re avoiding me at this stage), so I’ve been trying to “shop the wardrobe”…but as usual I couldn’t resist my weekend uniform of jeans!  Too comfortable, and easy to style, to resist really…

Outfit - striped top, turquoise necklace, pink lipstick

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet in Pink Pong

This is my ideal Sunday outfit, comfortable with a hint of Swedish cool (well…my mom thinks I’m cool), with milkmaid braids and flatform sandals.  This hairstyle is my absolute go-to at the moment.  It’s surprisingly easy to do, even with short-ish hair like mine, and when combined with a bright pink lip, it’s an easy way to make yourself look fresh and pulled together (when perhaps you feel anything but).  The Bourjois matte lip stain in “Pink Pong” is a recent purchase, made after reading rave reviews over on Bellinis and Blush.  You’ll know from my last post that I’m not afraid of a bright lip, and this one definitely ain’t for the faint of heart when it comes to colour on your pout – I LOVE it!

L. Mulligan Grocer in Stoneybatter, Dublin

On Sunday myself and himself ventured out to Stoneybatter in Dublin for some grub in L. Mulligan Grocer – and it was well worth the trip.  This little gem is fast becoming my favourite spot for a tasty Sunday lunch – hearty food with an artisan twist.  I went for the Dublin Bay scampi with a pea puree and chorizo aioli for starters (you had me at chorizo, mmmm), and a take on chicken Kiev with hazelnut crumb, beetroot slaw and corn puree for the star of the show.  I know, I know, anywhere that serves a puree of anything has the potential to be ridiculously pretentious, but this place is anything but, trust me!  A relaxed atmosphere, decorative vintage touches and really friendly staff makes this one of my top spots in Dublin.

I have to say, this post has been basically my ideal weekend in nutshell.  Fun, yet lazy with a couple of excuses to dress up – what’s your idea of a perfect weekend?

10 thoughts on “Monday Mix and Match

  1. You are totes amazeballs! I’ve read all of your posts and I’m always left waiting for the next! I’ll let you know when my blog (talkin’ threads) is ready and hopefully you can follow me too.

    Ps your photographer is awesome!

  2. i can’t wait to try the rouge edition velvets since i just ordered myself some at asos. i can’t get them in actual stores where i live which is sad.
    xx

  3. Love your Sunday look! So cute.
    Mad about those Bourjois lippies, Pink Pong just looks incredible on, the pigment is so pig-menty. And the staying power is fantastic. Great weekend round-up and thanks again for the linkage!
    *love*
    xx

  4. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

