Sunday Mix And Match

I thought I’d put my money where my mouth is and live up to the name of this blog – so I give you my Sunday Mix and Match! A nice weekly round – up, showcasing everything I’ve been loving this week, from fashion and beauty purchases as well as what I’ve been reading, watching, eating, making and anything else I can think to throw in the pot (No wonder I never manage to be in bed the right side of midnight during the week!). Hopefully it will inspire you discover a new after work escape for yourself, something to fill your weekend or just a way to spend any spare pennies you may have!

collage

1. I know I’m a little late to the party, but I’m currently losing all my evenings to Game of Thrones – so so good, even if I do end up watching a lot of it through my fingers, blood and guts abound!

2. I’d intended to head out to some trendy, cool restaurant in Dublin City today and post a little review, but after two nights out on the trot, tea and a donut were all I could muster. After all, what else would you want of a Sunday morning (yes, shamefully this was my breakfast – I regret nothing!!) Like I said on my Instagram, the diet starts tomorrow! Haha!

3. After managing to save up quite a few points on my Boots card (I love a good loyalty scheme, and Boots definitely has the best I’ve come across, with the ability to spend any points you’ve accrued like money), so I decided to treat myself. Soap and Glory is one of my favourite brands, with gorgeous packaging and cute names – but does their skincare live up to their beautiful aesthetic? I was on the hunt for a new eye cream and lip balm, as I have terrible niggles with under eye bags and dry lips. I picked up the “Puffy Eye Attack” (my eyes in a nutshell!) eye gel and the “Smooch Operator” lip balm. On first try they seem promising, and I will hopefully do a proper review after a week or two of using them.

4. I’ve just finished reading “#GIRLBOSS” by Sophia Amoruso, founder and CEO of Nasty Gal Vintage, who tells her story of how she came to run a company that is incredibly successful and worth a whoooole lotta money now. When I was buying it the girl at the counter said to me, don’t read this right before you go to bed because it’ll make you want to get up and change your life right then and there – and she was pretty much right! Sophia’s story is very inspirational and she’s down to earth and funny to boot (basically a GirlBoss, just like she proclaims!) Amoruso has a good story to tell, and even though it’s quite unique to her, I would definitely recommend reading #GIRLBOSS to get your own brain whirring with motivation and possibility.

Having finished #GIRLBOSS, I picked up two new reads to keep me busy – “How to Build a Girl” by one of my favourite writers, Caitlin Moran and “Lemon Grove” by Helen Walsh, which I’ve a read brilliant reviews for. I can’t wait to get stuck into these – like I said, no early nights this week by the looks of things!

5. I’ll admit I’m not a huge lover of sales – It could be my years spent working in retail in hellish January, or the fact I like my clothes shiny, new and well merchandised, but I am allergic! In particular the River Island sale makes me come out in a rash, it’s like kill or be killed! I ventured in today with the intention of buying a (full-price) skirt I’d seen online, when this nifty lil’ number caught my eye – reduced to €18! I’m not big on the peplum silhouette generally, but this one is nice and loose, particularly having gone a size up, so it’s almost just like a frill around the edge. I’m lovin’ the navy and black clash as well and can’t wait to wear this with some simple black skinny jeans and a big ol’ necklace. They say never to head towards the sale rack without a clear picture of want you need/want – but hey, rules are made to be broken!

There ya have it, my Mix and Match – or as I like to call it, the reason I don’t want to check my bank balance! Thanks for reading!

Karen

4 thoughts on “Sunday Mix And Match

  1. Pingback: Outfit Post: Halter Top and Polka Dots | The Mix and Match

  2. Pingback: Outfit Post: Date Night | The Mix and Match

  3. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

  4. Pingback: Monday Mix and Match | The Mix and Match

Leave your thoughts, comments and questions here!

